Here Today…D.C. Tomorrow

Hello there!

Just finished packing. We’re headed to Chicago for the evening, then if all goes well we’ll be taking our plane tomorrow to D.C….that is if all goes well. I’ll keep you posted on that.

But I wanted to comment briefly about how Kate and I spent the last 18 hours. Last night was Dance Marathon at Loras College. Its a 12 hour even where Loras students stay up all night to raise money for the Children’s Miracle Network and the Iowa City Hospitals. So Kate and I were the official videographers last night. And I tell you it was a treat. First off, one of the families, Katie Metz, whom I did a story about last fall (before their daughter pass away) was there. That touched me like no other, to see the impact this has had on them. Then you add to that all the “miracle kids” that were there and smiles on their faces. As a journalist I think its such a gift when you get to tell these peoples stories. It inspires other and inspires me. And although we stayed up all night, spent several hours editing a video for the closing ceremonies, and didn’t sleep much for today…it was worth it!! It was for the kids! And I feel like it was an honor to be a part of something so great.

On that note: its time to head to Chicago. WISH US LUCK!!! prayers would be nice too!

Peace.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pre Trip

Leave a Reply

